When I send someone an invitation what approval is needed?

When someone is sent an invitation they may need to be approved before they can join the system or any groups they were invited to.

If they are not already a registered user

  1. If the Approve new users user workflow setting is set to No then they will not need approval by a user administrator.
  2. If the invitation was sent by a user that is a user administrator then they will be considered to be pre-approved so they will not need approval by a user administrator unless the inviter has since had their user account deactivated.
  3. If the email address they registered with ends in one of the domains in the Pre-approved domains user workflow setting then they will not need approval by a user administrator.
  4. If they registered with a different email address to the one used in the invitation and the domain did not match the Pre-approved domains setting then they will need approval by a user administrator.

Here a user administrator is defined as someone with system permission to activate users, which will include those with the system administrator role.

If they are already a registered user or after their registered user is activated

For each of the groups they have been invited to:

  1. If the Approve new members member workflow setting in the group is set to No then they will not need approval by a group administrator.
  2. If the invitation was sent by a user that is a group administrator then they will not need approval by a group administrator unless the inviter is no longer a member of the group or has had their user account deactivated.
  3. If the invitation was sent by a user that is a system administrator then they will not need approval by a group administrator unless the inviter has had their account deactivated.

Here a group administrator is defined as someone with group permission to activate members, which will usually be those members with the Group administrator or Group moderator role.

Written by Stephen Hebditch. Published on .
5.0.0
The rules controlling when approval is required for invitations to the system or groups.