How do I have discussion messages by new members initially moderated?

By default, a collaboration space will allow anyone to create a new discussion message and have it instantly published. However, there may be cases - such as with public spaces on the Internet - where you want to have messages approved until a user has established their reputation.

To do this, in the space go to Settings and choose the Advanced settings tab. There are now two options you need to change:

  • First select Thread workflow. This controls what happens when the system receives a message that is not part of an existing discussion thread. In the Roles that don't require moderation setting uncheck the Group member option. Now select the Save button.
  • Next select Message workflow. This controls what happens when the system receives a message that is a reply to one in an existing discussion thread. In the Roles that don't require moderation setting uncheck the Group member option. Now select the Save button.

You now need to assign the Group unmoderated member role to those members whose messages you are happy to have immediately published. Go to the Members section and locate the first of these members. Select the Edit member button in the dropdown menu next to their name, ensure the Group unmoderated member role is checked and then select the Save button. You can now repeat this process for each of the required members.

If a discussion message is now sent by a member whose messages are moderated then a new task will appear in My tasks for those members who have the Group administrator or Group moderator role. You will be able to approve it for publication or reject it, in which case the member will be informed and given the reason if you have supplied one. Each task also has a link to the profile of that member, from where you can easily edit the member and give them the Group unmoderated member role if you decide their messages no longer need moderation.