How do I allow members to edit knowledge entries but have their changes checked by a moderator first?

Usually when you create a collaboration space any member will be able to add knowledge entries and edit existing ones. However, in spaces with larger numbers of members contributing or when ensuring the accuracy of content is absolutely essential it may be useful to have entries checked by a group moderator or administrator first.

To do this, in the space go to Settings and choose the Advanced settings tab. First make sure that members are allowed to add comments by selecting the Resource permissions option and then the Knowledge entry resource type. Ensure that Group member and Group unmoderated member both have the Add and Edit permissions checked and then select the Save button.

Next, return to the Advanced settings page and choose the Knowledge entry workflow option. In the Roles that don't require moderation setting uncheck the Group member option. If you want approval from more than one person before publication then enter that number in the Number of sign-offs to approve setting. Now select the Save button.

If there are some members whose entries don't need moderation then you can assign them the Group unmoderated member role. Go to the Members section and locate the first of these members. Select the Edit member button in the dropdown menu next to their name, ensure the Group unmoderated member role is checked and then select the Save button. You can now repeat this process for each of the required members.

If a knowledge entry is now added or updated by a member whose entries are moderated then a new task will appear in My tasks for those members who have the Group administrator or Group moderator role. You will be able to approve the entry for publication, return it to the author requesting further changes or reject it, in which case the member will be informed and given the reason if you have supplied one. Each task also has a link to the profile of that member, from where you can easily edit the member and give them the Group unmoderated member role if you decide their entries no longer need moderation.