How do I prevent group administators from changing certain group settings?

By default Jiglu has a large number of different settings that allow administrators of blogs, monitors and spaces to control exactly how they want their group to look and behave. However, you may not want to give those administrators access to all the settings. For example, you might not want to allow them to change the text of email notifications.

There are two ways of controlling access.

Category visibility

Category visibility lets you hide whole pages of settings from group administrators. Go to System settings, choose the Group defaults option and then the Category visibility option at the bottom of the page. For those categories you want to hide choose the Invisible radio button next to its name. Once you have finished select the Save button.

Note that you can still enable particular categories for individual groups. If you have not already carried out secondary authentication (your name at the top will be in red if this is the case) then go to My preferences, choose the System administrator log on option and enter the password. Now go to the required group and choose Settings. Next choose the Advanced settings tab and then the Category visibility option at the bottom of the page. You can now choose those categories that you want to make visible or invisible just for that group.

Locked settings

Locked settings let you prevent group administrators from changing individual group settings. Go to System settings, choose the Group defaults option and then the settings category containing the setting you wish to lock. Beside each setting you will see a checkbox with a lock icon. Select the checkbox for those settings you wish to prevent access to and then select the Save button. When a group administrator goes to that category page although they will still be able to see the setting and its value they will not be able to change it.

Note that system administrators will still be able to change these values for individual groups.